Poached Salmon, Avocado, & Asparagus Quinoa Sushi

sushi

This may be the first recipe I have ever made up in my life! Wow, I am super proud of myself. I wish I had taken pictures of the process. I just didn’t know it was actually going to turn into something delicious lol I made enough ingredients to make a second batch, so I promise to add more pictures later… I know if you’ve never rolled sushi, the assembly directions are probably pretty confusing with no pictures.

Update: Pictures added!

Ingredients:

Sushi Quinoa:
1/2 cup uncooked quinoa, rinsed
1 cup water
2 1/2 tbsp white wine vinegar
1/2 tbsp light agave

Poached Salmon:
6 oz salmon
1/2 cup water
1/4 cup white wine vinegar
1 shallot, sliced
1 clove garlic, crushed
ground pepper
Italian seasoning
Parsley (fresh or dried)

1/2 avocado
Lemon juice (optional)
8 springs asparagus
2 cups water
2 nori seaweed wraps

Directions:

Bring 1 cup water 1/2 cup quinoa to a boil. Cover and reduce temperature. Let cook 15-20 minutes until quinoa is chewy but not mushy.

Meanwhile, in a small skillet, bring 1/2 cup water, 1/4 cup white wine vinegar, shallot, garlic, ground pepper, pinch of Italian seasoning, and sprinkle of parsley to a simmer over medium heat. Add salmon, skin side down, and cover. Cook 7-10 minutes, depending on thickness of salmon.

Rinse asparagus. I left mine raw, but you can steam for 3-5 minutes until tender if you prefer. Set aside to cool if you steam Slice avocado (in skin) into strips. I squeezed some lemon juice on them to keep from browning, but it’s not a big deal if you’re going to eat it immediately. (Tip: Leaving the pit in the other half of the avocado will help keep it from browning.)

When salmon is finished, remove from heat and let cool. When quinoa is finished, add 1/6 cup white wine vinegar and 1 tbsp light agave. Fluff to mix.

Assembly:

Lay out nori seaweed wrap on bamboo sushi roller. Scoop half of quinoa onto it and spread evenly. Press gently to compact the quinoa, but don’t mash it up. I like to leave about 1/2 inch at the end of the nori with no quinoa for when I wrap it.

image
Notice the lack of quinoa across the top.

Lay 4 asparagus sprigs, 1/2 avocado slices, and 1/2 poached salmon evenly in rows across the middle of the nori wrap.

image
Note the missing avocado. These pictures are from round 2 & I ate the leftover avocado with breakfast. Oops.

Now you’re ready to roll! Start close to yourself, begin rolling the bamboo board until it makes a cylinder. Let the sushi board roll outward as the nori continues to roll under.

image

I brush water across the 1/2 inch of nori at the end and press gently but firmly to get a good seal.

image

Cut into 8 pieces, then repeat for the second nori wrap.

Leave a Reply

